Is it necessary is to hardwire to network when streaming hires?

Hello. I am relatively new to Roon and want to know if it necessary to hardwire your network connection from your control unit to achieve Hires streaming playback? The source is the network, and since the network is hardwired to my Esoteric N-01, Apple Airplay limitations should not be a factor when controlling cordlessly over WiFi from my MacBook Pro, should it? I have tried it both ways many times playing the same files and I just don’t hear a difference. My understanding is if I had a drive attached to my MacBook, and I was playing files from that attached drive to my network with a WiFi connecction, THEN the AirPlay limitation of 44/16 would limit my playback. I would appreciate a confirmation of my assumption here. Many thanks!

Your Roon core computer device should be wired to your router with ethernet. Your Roon end-point device or Roon bridge device should be wired to your router with ethernet. Your control device can be WIFI. Dont use Airplay. If you have music files on a hard drive, connect that to your Roon core computer using USB.

Hi Jim. Why is it necessary to hardwire my core to the network, if I am only controlling, not sourcing playback, as with streaming? This must be something unique to Roon, and I would like understand. Thanks. Ted.

If you’re using Roon, the Roon core device does all the processing. Music flows from your router to the Roon core for processing. Then, it flows back to your router and on to your Roon end-point or Roon bridge, then to your amp and speakers. Your Roon control device can be your Roon core or an iPad, iPhone, or Android device. The control device can be WIFI, because it’s not doing much, just selecting songs, basically.

That said, some people get by with their Roon core connected using WIFI, but if you read all the problem threads, a large percentage of problems come from trying to connect the Roon core using WIFI.

1 Like