Issue with Topping DX5 DAC connection on Roon/NucleusOne (ref#1Q7OW0)

What’s happening?

· I'm having trouble with my DAC, speakers, streamer, etc.

What best describes the issue with your audio device?

· I see my device in Settings > Audio, but I can't enable it

Describe the issue

I'm new to Roon/NucleusOne. When I connect my Topping DX5 to the USB port on the NOne "Topping" shows up under audio but trying to ENABLE just says "device initialization failed". And when I try to set up under detting there is no "Topping" category. If TOPPING is unsupported is there any way to use the DAC with ROON or must I find a new and supported DAC/headphone amp?

Describe your network setup

ATT 5268AC, PEPWAVE SURF SOHO all audio on same network. Using DELL Desktop WIN 10 for ROON management. I have used the TOPPING via the desktop & "foobar" FLAC player before buying the Nucleus

[Moderator note: user is now posting as @John_Griffin, see below.]

@John_Griffin,

This is not the Topping DAC connected to the Nucleus One as claimed (no ASIO for Linux) but the leftover entry for the DAC connected to your desktop Windows PC. That is likely why the initialization fails – the DAC is no longer connected to that machine. You should probably disable that old entry. Please provide a screenshot of the full listing of audio devices in Roon.

PS: If you plan to use the DAC to its full extent as advertised by its manufacturer, consider keeping it connected to the Windows PC where drivers that support this are available. Alternatively use a streamer that supports the DAC’s full capabilities if the Nucleus doesn’t. Note: Roon OS is designed as a base for a Roon Server machine and not as a streamer. Its kernel might miss the patches needed to allow full support of the DAC’s features that specialized streaming devices may come equipped with.

This helps.