Klipsch Fives / Kef LSX / Roon EQ / Raspberry PI

So. I have those 10 year old small M-Audio speakers next to my computer and it’s time to upgrade.

I’m new to Roon and thought I could stream on all speakers in the house as long as they are connected. Well, found out that it’s not the case.

Since I already have a Raspberry Pi feeding my living room set I thought I’d add another one in the bedroom (which is also an office). That way I should solve the multiroom play.

Now, I want active speakers (space/convenience etc.) and I short listed the Kef LSX and the Klipsch Fives.

Big issue from almost all reviews with the Fives is the lack of bass EQ. I thought I could solve that using roon EQ.
But I’m not sure that applying EQ to a speaker with an internal DSP will produce more disaster than good. Is anyone doing just that, using roon to EQ active speakers ?

Also I’m annoyed that almost everyone uses the Fives as a soundbar replacement, I want to listen to music.

If the question above leads towards a “don’t do it” I might just go for the LSX fed with PI with an optical hat.

(also looked at the Kanto Tuk but they are hard to find in Europe and I’m worried about after sales)

In fact, I don’t need all the streaming features, a great power speakers set would suffice since I use a raspberry. See, I’m still not sure where to go :slight_smile:

(budget < 1000 euros)

Hi. The Fives do have bass EQ - three settings, Bass Cut, Flat, and Dynamic. Although Bass Cut is actually flat (yes it’s confusing).

The Bass Cut setting is relatively new. It should be included with new speakers but if not then you just need to upgrade the firmware (a bit fiddly). It’s the ONLY one to use with music! It may be - stress may be - that other reviews of The Fives didn’t have the Bass Cut EQ available. My conclusions would have been very different had that been the case.