Liberty DAC or Bittfost?

Looking for a new DAC to replace my Oppo 105. Don’t need a phono input. What would be the biggest improvement over my Oppo? Or is there something better? I heard the MHDT Canary might also be a good option. Budget <$1000.

Schitt Bifrost2 is getting good reviews.

Do you need balanced inputs/outputs?

Massdrop has several good quality DACs in that price range. Things really open up if you can spend a little more. A Schiit Gumby MB or PS Audio Stellar Gain Cell DAC can be found for under $1k in the used market. With the present economic issues, some used equipment will be available at a discount.

Thanks. Good point on the economy. No I dont need balanced inputs or outputs.

I think your needs, both current and future, could help make the decision.
I have some experience with all 3 products to some degree and I am a huge fan of all 3 companies. I think they each do what they do very, very well.
That being said, if you want MQA, there’s only 1 choice (of the products you mention). If you think you might want MQA in the future, there’s only one option.
If you know you don’t want MQA (and DSD) and never will, the skies the limit.
I had an Oppo 105 I used briefly for a DAC until I could get a Brooklyn Plus. I wanted MQA and I enjoy it very much.
If Schiit made an MQA capable product, my decision would not have been so easy. They don’t, and actually the FAQ’s on the Bifrost product page talk more about what a Bifrost won’t do, but it’s based on their design principles and some very conscious decisions about what they want their products to be able to do and not to do and they work very, very well at it.
For versatility, I would (and did) go with the Mytek. I’m looking at a Bridge for another system.
On the other hand, if I want something for headphones, a pre-amp, a tube based product, or maybe their new turntable, I’m totally looking at Schiit.
Oppo RIP.

1 Like