Linear power supply purchase help

I’m new to this hobby and would like some advice about how to introduce linear power supplies into my headphone systems.

I have separate amp and dac stacks and a couple combo systems ranging in price: Naim, Topping, FiiO and Schiit. What equipment (streamer, network bridge, amp or DAC) should I apply a linear PS to? Do I need separate PSs for each component?

Personally, save your money, use the power supplies that came with your equipment. They are all pretty decent manufacturers so doubt you will have any issues with what came with the equipment.

9 Likes

It’s a shame that the first response to your question was no help at all. I completely disagree that changing the power supply to a component will make no difference. I have an Auralic Aries G1. I upgraded the PS in that unit and found positive results. I use a linear PS on the microRendu in my office system and it works better than the ifi power supply many people use. If I was doing this I would probably start with the DAC. If you do this one at a time you can assess the value of the change. I also plug everything into a PS Audio Power Station. That made the biggest difference in my system. Good luck.

3 Likes

I disagree it’s no help if it’s the right thing to do. Let it be noted that the third response also advises the OP to invest somewhere else.

4 Likes

I’d say, none of them. Why don’t you trust the PS the manufacturer already provided?

More generally, what is it you think “this hobby” consists of? Buying more gear? You’ve got some great stuff, play some music and enjoy it.

Why would you? I’d say, probably not.

4 Likes