Locating and moving the DB

Unfortunately, I’m not only new to Roon but I’m new to Mac. I have a new mini. I’ve installed Roon. I see it in The Apps folder. It works. I can play music.

I need to add the exported output from Sooloos. But, before I do I need to move the Roon Database off the system disk onto a Raid I have waiting for it.

How do I do this?

Thx

From the Roon Knowledge base:

You can find your Roon folder (or RoonServer folder) by following these steps:

1. Open Finder and click Go in the top bar
  2. Hold down the Option key (or Alt)(⌥) to unhide the Library folder
  3. Click the Library folder

I wouldn’t recommend picking up and moving your database. Why do you need to do that? It should really stay on the system disk of the machine that runs your Roon Core.

Are you concerned there won’t be enough space? F.Y.I. the database doesn’t actually contain the music files, just meta-data relating to them.

I don’t think there is an easy way to relocate the database, you will most likely have to do some filesystem directory sym-linking.

Yes, I was/am concerned about space. Yes, I knew the music was separate, but did not realize that it is played from where I put it? My system SSD isn’t upgradeable so I am concerned when I have a few thousand CDs loaded, I might have an issue. I have other, external SSDs and thought they’d be a choice other than the system disk.

I’m confused about the music. Does Roon play it from where I place it or move it elsewhere? Is it not encoded of moved?

It currently has one CD it found and plays but I haven’t a clue where it is physically located.

BTW,
I’ve spent a lot of time in the knowledge base, (which is how I actually got it working) but given the size, it’s damned hard to find what I’m looking for.

Lastly, to load the Sooloos exported files, do I just copy it to the Music folder?

Thx for the quick and informative answers.

Roon can play music files from multiple storage locations.