Looking for a new streamer

Hello folks, My first post here. I’m new to Roon I signed up a couple of months ago and have been enjoying it. I’m running core on an 7ish year old iMac, seems to be running just fine.

The system I’m looking to get a new streamer for is currently using a vault2i as a server /streamer. At this point i only have 150 cd or so ripped. The rest of the system is a Rega Elex mk4 a Rega p6. Rega Apollo and old Linn Kans (thats all that will fit in my built in book case). I’d like to find a streamer that is as much fun as the TT. The Vault is not doing it for me.I have the BS running in to the Rega’s DAC. I also have a Schiit Bifrost if i wanted to up the box count.
My budget is around $2500 usd. So far I’ve been eyeing the Lumin U2 mini, Innuos Pulse mini w/ the power supply and the Bricasti Design Model 5. Any thoughts? The plan is to move the vault down stairs where the imac lives.I’m having a hard time getting Roon to find my library on the Vault but that for another time.
Thanks for any and all suggestions and insights.

I would put your rips on the core. There aren’t enough of them to justify the complications of network attached storage. If you intend to rip more then cool but sell the Vault and buy a proper NAS.
I was looking at a Lumin U2 mini at the start of the year but ended up with the much discussed Eversolo DMP-A6. It is a pretty good device as a Roon endpoint and can be used solo too. Wether any streamer can be as much fun as a TT is debatable but Roon is the key to that, not so much the hardware.

2 Likes

I’d recommend to keep your local collection of music on an external drive which is directly connected to your computer running the Roon Core.

Easy to manage and Roon will have no problems finding it.

My favorite streamer is my Cambridge CXNv2. I have have teamed it up with the rest of the Cambridge Audio CX2 series including the CXA81 amp.

1 Like