Metal music discussion 🤘 [2021-03]

Also in similar vein, hardly surprising with Liv Kristine on vocals although a little more symphonic I think…

2 Likes

Thanks Kevin I am just finishing up listening to Amberian dawn at the moment.
I have added this to my library for tomorrow.

I have one album left in me for the night so I am going to be brave and try some Opeth :grin::stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

1 Like

Opeth is not really lull you to sleep music!
:sweat_smile::sweat_smile:
But hopefully you enjoy!

1 Like

Still probably my favorite female fronted symphonic metal band or likely a better description would be operatic rock.
Think these were the first of this genre I ever started to listen to.

1 Like

Kevin
Well I started with Heritage, which I really liked, but remembered after about 3 track’s that this is prog Opeth (maybe I could have fallen asleep to that).

I remembered Rockhound’s suggestion so I started playing Still Life which was good hard Metal, but the Tidal recording is of lower quality.
So now listening to Watershed.
Much better quality recording and first track is mellow, just waiting for it to explode into life (which it just has)
So far so good

2 Likes

Good deal!
Yes maybe the prog rock Opeth could be sleep worthy.
What I honestly thought was not so much prog rock but more just melodic rock without any direction or bite to it.
It just did not hold my attention.

Well my two weeks at home nearly over, up at 4@am tomorrow to fly to the frozen wastelands of Wisconsin for work so no Roon.
Obviously have Qobuz on my phone and laptop and some half decent travel Bluetooth Bose cans so not a total loss.

1 Like

Have fun in the frozen North :+1:t2:

I am definitely getting old - used to buy everything from Leaves’ Eyes, Within Temptation et al. But I have found their latest releases to be bland and boring.

Midnattsol is another terribly boring band, whose lead singer, the sister of Liv Kristine, can’t even sing like the others.