More database features, please?

(my background is in database work - 35 years of design/programming)
This is a request to really start using the database. There’s so much that could be available, and I hope you’ll consider it. While I can’t provide a comprehensive wish list, it could start with searching by record label, audio qualities (DSD, MQA, quality levels), date ranges, recording engineer, etc. - and providing sort options while there aren’t apparently any. I’m figuring that since you’re able to display these fields in the first place, it could be available through the interface.

I’m streaming Qobuz through Roon and recently wanted to see the albums from a certain record label. They’re doing albums featuring some nice MQA classical music, and someone at a forum recommended the label. I searched for the label in Roon in the Qobuz heading and it didn’t return any results. I brought up the Qobuz program in Win10, searched and found what I was looking for.
Or I look at my artists list. I can’t sort them alphabetically in the Qobuz section within Roon - to me it doesn’t make sense that you can’t take that data from Qobuz and sort it (unless it’s a much more involved process to access and play anything from Qobuz).
I see other applications that have lots of sort/selection options, and sometimes I struggle to find what I’m looking for.

I hope you can consider a project to explore, enhance and expand what’s offered in the interface.

Rich

1 Like

Did you explore the features of Roon in Focus? Most of this exists for albums in the library.

Indeed it’s not possible to do these things for albums that are not in the library. There is a chasm in Roon between library and non-library items that is unfortunate. However, it’s been much discussed and there are lots of existing feature request for this - it does not seem easy in the current architecture.