My Roon experience is changing and I don't know why

I’ve been using Roon for several years now and for the most part I have enjoyed the experience. I do believe it to be the best music engagement software available. Lately my enjoyment is waning. I’m accustomed to coming home from work and pressing Lutron Home button and my integrated home lights up with all the features I’ve programmed.
Recently Roon has become a weak link in this usually pleasant experience. I don’t have a very large library [~8000 albums, ~5000 from NAS, the remainder from Tidal and Qobuz]. Roon is taking several minutes to populate my library and several more to play the selected Lp. It plays Tidal randomly. My remotes are constantly in need of reconnect to Core.
For the past month I’ve switched to using Audirvana because it just works. I enjoy the sound of Audirvana more, its just that the UI is nasty, comparatively. I really want Roon to function as it has in the past years so I can get back to just enjoying the music.
Rant over.

3 Likes

If it’s slow it’s more likely a system performance or networking issue so raise a #support thread and fill in the info requested then you might get some help to determine what the issue is.

1 Like

You don’t mention what hardware you are using as your roon server. Is it possible the hardware selected back a few years ago, is now more sluggish with the major, and all the minor updates to roon over the years? You never really noticed it until the cumulative impact finally showed up.

I think you have a point @RICHARD_DOWNS. I’m running a 2018 Mac Mini with 8g of ram. It’s being pushed in that its loaded with Audirvana, Plex and Roon. I don’t want to turn it into a support issue bc I’m also running macOS beta Monterey. Considering memory boost or new mini. Waiting for full Montery OS to arrive to decide.

1 Like