Myriad Issues with Roon Arc App on iOS

I’ve been using the Roon Arc on my iPhone for around a week now, and encounter quite literally endless issues with it, despite an update earlier today.

When using the app over Wifi, the issues are limited to slow loading tracks (even over a strong and stable connection), with the odd crash.

But when out and about using 5G or 4G, this is where the real fun and games start.

Tracks just won’t play, even with 5 bars of signal strength and I’m able to stream a 4K clip on YouTube wit no issues. The app crashes randomly, this has happened more often since todays update. If you skip more than a track or two ahead at a time, the spinning wheel kicks in and you need to quit the app to get it going again.

When using Roon Arc with CarPlay (I know it’s not officially supported yet) I can manage one or two songs before the app becomes either unresponsive or quits.

I love Roon, I’m new to it - but I love it. Most of the past week has been spent ripping CD’s and building a Roon Core setup around an old MacBook Pro. At home everything works great.

It’s just a shame the Roon Arc App feels like it’s barely been tested, and it’s not in beta.

Anyone else experiencing the same thing?

1 Like

Have you tried deleting the Roon ARC app from your phone and doing a reinstall? Sometimes that will cure lots of issues.

Hi Jim,

Yes, I did that a few days ago and then again just before updating earlier today. Same issues remained.

Thanks,

Dan

Is your Roon core connected by ethernet?

It’s not as I couldn’t get past the connectivity issues when connected via Ethernet, but when connecting via Wifi it was fine. The Mac I’m using for the Roon Core is right next to the router and I get a solid 50/10 when I do a Speedtest.

I’m using a secondary Wifi device so switched it to bridge mode and was able to connect for Roon Arc but not via ethernet. Strange!

I wonder what you are playing, local stored music or streaming?