NanoPI with UbuntuCore and USB problem - looking for help

Hello forum.
Please excuse any missing info for troubleshooting or misunderstandings - I am complete newbie on ARM/Linux etc. but love Roon and listen to good music with great user interface and less cables etc around.

Components used:
Roon Server and bridge on a Intel NUC running Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
USB to AES converter Yellowtec PUC2 Lite to convert USB Digital audio to my Genelec active speakers
Genelec’s monitors - build in DAC etc. (8351’s)

What used to work:
Roon Server and Bridge on NUC directly attached to Yellowtec - only caveat is that the Linux support of the Yellowtec is poor and Ubuntu 16.04 see it as only being cable of 16bit/48Khz (it does more formats than that - but Linux doesnt recognise this). However - despite upsampling material to 48Khz it worked fine.

What doesn’t work:
Roon server -> Nanopi NEO running UbuntuCore + Roon Bridge -> Yellowtec.
The whole chain gets detected correctly from Roon Server - same detection of Bit-Perfect Format Support of the Yellowtec etc. (16bit/48Khz)…

Observation of problem: Roon begins to stream a track to Nanopi NEO but within 1-2 seconds it skips directly to the next track and keeps skipping until reaching end of album.

Any help would be appreciated a lot - really had my hopes set on the little cheap Nano NEO as Roon endpoint.

Regards
Kenneth

Any special reason for running Ubuntu Core?

You may want to try DietPi – I see there’s a NaniPi NEO version available. You can install RoonBridge directly from the software menu.

No sure if it will help you – but it’s a proven (minimal) distro for running RoonBridge on an SBC.

Thanks RBM!
I will try that tomorrow - I did already download the DietPi but had a bit trouble finding the instruction to get it flying on my NEO… probably to tired…
I’ll post when I have tried DietPi.
/Kenneth