New headphones, advice for a novice

Hi All,

I have been tinkering around with my main system for a few months now and, ultimately, I need to think about new speakers. Anyway, I have been talking about this for a while now, much to the chagrin of my other half, and yesterday she said ‘why not get some headphones’, pretty much to shut me up. Excellent, I now want new speakers AND some new headphones.

To that end, I have begun planning a new Roon end point and I will need to give quite alot of thought to the new streamer/amp/dac which will drive the headphones. So I wonder if I could get the headphones first and run them from some of my current kit whilst I plan and save for the rest. I have a Arcam irDACII and a Mytek Liberty DAC which could be used. Being a bit new to this headphone lark I understand I need to make sure that the DACs have enough power to run the headphones and it looks like the Mytek has more power in this regard.

Anyway, I would be grateful if people could recommend me some headphones, ideally that could be used now and in the future (I was reading some interesting things about the Audeze LCD-2 yesterday, but I am sure there is quite alot of choice).

Whilst we are on the subject if anyone has any recommendations in respect of streamers/amps/DACs to consider for the headphone endpoint then that would be great!

Thanks for any input.

First the good news - The Mytek Liberty DAC looks like it can drive almost any headphone out there.

Now the “bad” news - there are lots and lots of headphones to choose from and many different types of headphones as well. Dynamic, planar magnetic, electrostatic, hybrids, etc. Open back and closed back. Well known brands and many brands that are new to the headphone game.

Some recommendations to get you started:

Beyerdynamic t5p 2nd generation - my personal favorite

Sennheiser HD800S

Focal Clear