New to Roon - avoiding playing surround in shuffle mode

Howdy,

I’m new to Roon; have been using SqueezeServer so far.

I really enjoy Discover/Shuffle/Radio - as I also have a Tidal subscription, it’s really nice to be able to discover new music this way.

I have a few hundred of surround recordings that I ripped from DVD/BluRay and stored them in such a way that my Squeezebox Touch can feed them as a DTS/Dolby bitstream into my receiver (there is spdifconvert.py script that I use); these streams are stored as FLAC files, but only can be decoded when playing back via the Squeezebox - on other systems, like the iMac I primarily use for listening while I’m working, the files can’t be decoded and will sound like loud, white noise.

So, I’d like to disable playing these surround files when listening on the iMac. There are two ways for Roon to recognize these files: when ripping the files, I set the genre as “Surround” (so a chant that ignores files with the file genre tag to “Surround” would do the trick; another way to do this is to ignore any file that has a dynamic range of 1 (after analyzing the data stream, Roon thinks the dynamic range is 1 as it interprets it as white noise).

Is there a magic chant I can use -only on my iMac- that allows me to avoid playback of those surround files? I’d be happy with a manual solution too (“Roon, please ignore THESE files when playing back on THIS device”) - but I’m simply not familiar with Roon yet to come up with creative solutions myself.

And: if there is currently not a way to do this in Roon, please consider this a feature request.

Regards, Karel

Hi Karel. There are a couple of ways, but the cleanest might be to BAN all the Surround albums. Albums that are Banned are not included in large grouped playback. They must be manually selected to play.

Ref: