Newbie: Use 7.1. multichannel soundcard for 4 stereo zones

Hi,

As i am new to roon and multiroom audio, i have a few questions about setting up a multizones playback server.
Unfortunatly i couldnt find the rigth topics here, probably because i dont know the rigth keywords to search for.

I have a Win 2012 server running roon server core with a build-in 7.1. soundcard/chip.
I also have a 8 channel amp, and i would like to setup 4 zones with stereo playback.

Is it possible to use the build-in 7.1 soundcard: f. ex. L/R channel for the kitchen zone, LR/RR for the bath …

I only see the 7.1 soundcard as one output device in the settings panel?

Thank you very much in advance for putting me in the rigth direction.

Regards

Yes, probably. Roon DSP has a channel matrix function that can be used for duplicating, rerouting, etc. Give that a try.

AJ

Hi Steve,

First, check that in Device Setup/Channel layout your Soundcard Zone is set to 7.1 channels.

You’ll find the Mix tools in:

DSP Engine/Add Filter/Procedural EQ

Procedural EQ/Add Operation/Mix

The Mix tool should enable you to map L/R Stereo inputs to desired 7.1 Channel Outputs.

Roon also has its own multi-room capability between compatible Zones.

But, that still is only 1 endpoint or Roon Zone. You would just be sending the same audio stream out to each speaker pair.

1 Like

Daniel, you are thinking about this from a Roon network perspective. But Steve appears to want to use analog output from his multichannel sound card, then analog input into his multichannel amp, which he would be using as a de facto home distribution amp. In other words, his equipment and wiring would take care of multiple zones – Roon would not be needed for that function.

AJ

1 Like

There’s no way to do this purely within Roon. Roon is built for high quality audio playback, which requires an independent, selectable sample clock for each device. That requirement is at odds with what you are trying to do.