No Playback on MQA Tidal content - BluSound Node 2

Hello,

1st I’m really new at digital audio so sorry if the answers to this are easy and in front of my face.

MQA content from Tidal will not play on my system while other content plays fine. I’m running Roon 1.5 (build 323 64bit). I’m running Roon on an iMac Retina 5K 2017 4.2Ghz, i7, 40 GB Ram (HighSierra 10.13.4). I’m networked to a BluSound Node 2 (BlueOS 2.16.9) which is connected to an old school Classe pre-amp SSP-25 via Coax digital, then, Classe 401 amp. My Tidal subscription is Hi-Fi. When I play MQA and look at single path everything looks ok but no sound. I have tried going into Device Setup and changing MQA settings but nothing appears to work. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Stewart

@support

Hello @Stewart_Marcano,

• I did some research on the Classe SSP-25 and I couldn’t discern if the device officially supports high resolution playback via its digital inputs. This would be the first thing I would check.
  • To test this, you can go into the “Device Setup” page for the Bluesound Node 2, click the “Show Advanced” tab, and set the “Enable MQA Core Decoder” option to “No”
  • Are you getting audio output while playing MQA content from the analog RCA outputs on the rear of the device?

-John

This pre has reviews dating back to 1999 so my guess is it tops out at 48k.

Hi @John and @Henry_McLeod

Thank you for your help over the holiday weekend.

I was able to research, test your suggestions but I’m still rather confused (not unusual!).

For reference, My music path & eq was as follows prior to your suggestions: iMac (Roon Core - playing Tidal HiFi or my FLAC flies on iMac) to BlueSound Node 2 (via ethernet), Bluesound Node 2 to SSP-25 (via digital coax output into a digital input on SSP-25), SSP-25 to Classe 401 amp (via XLR balanced), Then from 401 to B&W 802’s (via cables).