NUC for ROCK clarification needed

I am quite new to Roon (I like it very much so far) and for testing I am running core on my Win PC.

I am planning to build a NUC for running ROCK and just need a clarification, although I am 99% sure this is right, but just in case:

• Intel NUC Kit BNUC11TNHI50002 Core i5 Tiger Canyon

This BNUC is what bothers me a little. I assume is fully compatible to NUC11TNHI5.
Could you be so kind and confirm it?

The rest is:

• RAM: Crucial 16GB DDR4-3200 SODIMM PC4-25600 CL22, 1.2V, CT16G4SFRA32A
  • SSD1 (ROCK OS): Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250GB
  • SSD2 (storage): SAMSUNG 870 EVO 1TB SSD, 2.5” 7mm, SATA

Maybe it is a little overkill but I do not like to upgrade it in a few years or so.

Thank you in advance!

If I’m not mistaken the B in BNUC just means Barebones, i.e. it doesn’t come with RAM, disks, or OS

A post was merged into an existing topic: Debian or ROCK?

From what I’ve researched it is the same NUC. BTW, ROCK works just fine. It’s an easy install so don’t hesitate.

1 Like

I concur with @David_Gibson. I offer something to ponder. Consider using an external HDD for your storage. “HDD” because they are, or were, less expensive, and their relatively slower performance matters little for this particular use (note I’m only talking about storage). “External” because that makes it somewhat easier to swap out and back up.

I think you’re gonna like your choice. happy listening.

A post was merged into an existing topic: Debian or ROCK?

4 posts were split to a new topic: Debian or ROCK?

Personaly, rather than install one 16Gb stick of RAM, I would install 2 x 8GB ram. This will maximise RAM access speed which will help the performance of memory intensive operations since it allows the NUC to operate the two RAM channels concurrently.