NUC on-board audio / Format of "my-music SSD"

@support
Hi everyone,
I am a newbie at Roon and decided to build my own NUC. I have ordered an Intel NUC 7i7BNH and installed the required additional parts (8GB SODIMM, 120GB m.2 SSD). I updated and modified the BIOS, installed ROCK and added the ffmpeg codec.
Everything looks good and I can remotely access ROCK via CAT6 or WiFi. No actual Roon tests as of yet (leaving soon for a business trip and don’t want to start my trial period until I come back).

I have two questions I couldn’t find answers to in the KB and the Community:

1. The BIOS contains a softswitch to turn NUC onboard audio ON or OFF. Is turning it OFF beneficial … maybe less digital noise in the box?
  2. I still intend to install a 1TB SSD in the drive cage. Can I pre-load my music (about 700GB) to this disk externally before installing it? How should I format the drive?

Any guidance is highly appreciated!!

Can’t help you with point 1, but yes,you should be able to pre-load your music on your SSD externally prior to installing it , just make sure it is in the right format (exFat) rather than NTFS or anything else unsuitable. I switch my core between desktop and laptop for when I’m travelling, so now have all my music on an external SSD drive via USB (makes it much easy to copy everything over to the laptop).

Fitting the SSD to the drive cage is a tidier solution, but using it as external USB can also have its benefits.

(moderator note: edited above)

Thanks for your response Peter.
The wish for preloading the SSD before installing it in the NUC enclosure came after reading some comments here about excruciatingly slow music file transfer times from networked computers / NASs to NUCs.
I have no idea about the cause of this. I have an iMac and a MacBook Pro on my WiFi network and even very large file transfers, such as hundreds of raw image files, are very fast.