NUC running hot and noisy [Resolved - blow the dust from the fan]

With the summer coming, I noticed by 7th gen i5 NUC with ROCK (BNH Series) running hot and making quite a bit of noise.

No impact on performance but it got me worried. And the noise is annoying.

I keep my room air conditioning at about 75 degrees Fahrenheit

Any solutions? Other than installing a fanless case with I am not technically capable of doing.

Thanks

Perhaps the fan is dusty? And therefore not operating efficiently? If your room is carpeted or dusty this might be the cause. Just like ac filters need cleaning so to do pc fans but as these don’t often have any filters the dust accumulates on the fan blades making them both noisy and less effective causing the cooling to also be less effective?

Possibly. Thanks.

Yes the room is carpeted.

Any ideas how to clean it?

Usually a strip down and a can of compressed air… try and google fan cleaning on NUC 7i7BNH

https://communities.intel.com/thread/114068

The idea is to blow out the dust from the fan and also the cooling fins of the Heatsinks on the cpu…try not to spin the fan a million rpm when doing do, a quick spin is ok but remember the bearings are not designed to spin at turbo speed that the compressed air can achieve.

Might help for the disassembly part while not the same model the principal is similar

One caution is if you are not absolutely comfortable with doing this then seek assistance from someone who is.

I don’t know what loads are on your NUC or how noisy/warm is it compared to normally operating in your setup…I put mine in a fanless case. If you like I could post a pic of the old fan assembly from my 7i7BNH

@thyname glancing at your I’m not capable comment on the fanless option you might be best seeking some 3rd party assistance.

While you might be able to force some compressed air thru the fan holes without disassembly I would need to check the physical vents on my old case to see how that might work

1 Like