NUC with Windows 10, ROCK or MOCK installation

After learning about Roon for some time, I have decided to take the plunge to install Roon. I am therefore a complete newbie.

So I started by buying a brand new NUC. A NUC8i5BEH already configured with 256GB NVMe SSD + 16GB RAM and pre-installed with Windows 10.

So this seems to be a complete mini PC. From what I read, Roon Core is best installed on Roon OS (ROCK) in a barebone NUC. But now that I already have Windows, what is best?
I do not have any particular expectations of what Windows can do for me soundwise, nor do I need to have a Windows installation. I should be happy to uninstall Windows and install ROCK or just install Roon onto this mini PC (which may be simpler).
I shall be connecting with a USB cable directly with my DAC, a SMSL 500 and have my NAS with 16,000 tracks connected to my router or directly as well.
My only concern is sound quality, is there any advantage in having Windows or should I just dispense with it? Your advice would be most helpful.
I prefer my installation and subsequent maintenance to be hassle-free, as I am not by any means, a technical geek. Originally I had wanted to buy the Nucleus, but found the NUC to be so much cheaper.

Thanks, Douglas

You might as well install ROCK on your NUC, that will serve as the least maintenance demanding solution, and arguably the highest possible audio quality.
If the shoe don’t fit, just reinstall Windows and thread that path instead! :slight_smile:

And, there’s the option of installing a internal hard drive in the NUC if you prefer local storage also.

1 Like

Hi Douglas, if you’re familiar with Windows, keep it as it is and install Roon Server on this NUC and start listening to music. For Windows exist abundant drivers, and there are enough Windows users out there to support you with problems, should need arise.