NUC8i3BEH Hosed after update 1.0.221 [resolved]

NUC8i3BEH was running Roon just fine; I can’t log into Roon to find out which version I was running. It’s connected via ethernet to an Orbi satellite with a 5 tb external HDD (non-SSID) attached.

I used the Roon-approved package from Amazon.

Also, ROCK is not showing up on my browser, like it used to. There is no music on the SSD, and Roon cannot find a core at all.

I’m not a computer expert. Can you guys please post step by step instructions as to what to do?

I do not have a monitor available. WHAT DO I DO NOW PLEASE!!!

I think you have to wait for Roon to come up with a fix for this defective update.

Man, this is really frustrating. I rely on Roon as my only playback system. I’ll refrain from venting; it seems like many others have this problem.

I really hope that the fix requires minimal surgery on my ROCK. I had to borrow a monitor to build it, and in these COVID times, it’s not possible to do that now. :frowning:

Tough without a monitor. You could try to reload the operating system etc. from scratch, but yeah, monitor and keyboard are pretty much a necessity.

You gotta have a TV with an HDMI input!

Good point! I guess I could do it that way. The NUC has an HDMI output, right?

1 Like

I haven’t used my NUC today and luckily I saw the posts on the issues before I did. Think I will wait it out. Do you happen to know about the BIOS update I’ve seen mentioned in the posts? I’m using whatever BIOS was current last July when doing the original build.

Not going to boot the NUC to find out as that would probably trigger the update.

Yes, that’s how you connect a monitor to it. The only issue I had was my schmancy ergonomic Microsoft keyboard wouldn’t work - I had to go to Best Buy for one of those cheapy $10 keyboards.