Nucleus and External Storage/Backup problems

@support

I’ve been using Roon for a couple of years and recently purchased and successfully installed a Nucleus. My system is as follows:
Nucleus is connected directly to Ethernet;
I’ve installed and formatted a 4TB Samsung SSD internally in the Nucleus and moved a portion of my hi-res audio downloads to the internal drive;
I’ve attached a Samsung Portable SSD T3 (containing some hi-res audio files) to one of the Nucleus external USB ports;
I have a USB connection from the Nucleus to my MSB Analog DAC (and from there to a Plinius power amp and Vienna Acoustics Mahler speakers).

Other devices I use Roon on: iMac, a Macbook Pro, iPad Pro, and an iPhone X.

I have several issues that I’m unable to resolve:

1. I have a Samsung Portable SSD T3 attached to the Nucleus, but I cannot add new downloads to that drive. I’m trying to move the downloads from my iMac hard drive or from anther SSD T3 external drive attached to the iMac. What I get when I try to do this is a message that says “Items can’t be copied to “Music” (that’s the folder on the Portable SSD T3 attached to the Nucleus) because you don’t have permission to read them.” (screenshot attached)

I don’t understand why this should be the case. They are easily read when I move them around between drives on my iMac.

2. I’m unable to setup backups of my Roon data and preferences with the Nucleus. When I specify the location of the backups as the Samsung SSD T3 attached to the Nucleus, I receive a message that says “The operation can’t be completed because you don’t have the necessary permission.” (I’ve attached a screenshot)

I don’t know why this is.