Nucleus SSD drive screws

Can someone please explain to me which screws should be used for the Nucleus’ SSD drive. The rails got screws and is mounted, but nothing can be found regarding screws for the drive itself.

How hard is it to write type of screws to be used? I have searched the web, and there seems to be different description on these screws. In guide for how to mount drive in the Nucleus here on the forum it refers to black screws and silver screws, but silver or black does not help me much.

This is a very standard part. Every drive should ship with them. I am not a screw expert, but 2.5" drives usually take M3 screws.

The screws we ship with are M3, but they don’t fit all drives. There are some weirdo drives out there.

2 Likes

What drive are you trying to mount? You are going to want either M3x5mm screws (0.5 pitch) with a wafer/flat head, or M2x5mm screws with a wafer/flat head. If you go on amazon and type “SSD mounting screws” you will find what you are looking for.

1 Like

Samsung 870 QVO 8TB SSD.

My Nucleus+ did not come with these screws

I have some which I think is M3, but they are not labeled. They seem to be slightly thicker than the silver screws for the rails (those are M2 or M2.5?) ?

For Samsungs the M3 screws will work. I don’t understand why Samsung doesn’t give you screws with the drive.

Try the screws you have, just try to thread them in lightly and if they catch then screw them in

I will get the drive tomorrow (just in panic tried to figure out what I’m missing) :slight_smile:

Seems to be mission impossible to get M3 screws which are not way too long (at local stores). This is why I’m crossing my fingers that the bag of unlabeled screwes will match.

Edit:
All info states that the Samsung SSD will not be shipped with mounting screws. Probably just to annoy me?

The screws for the rails are M3 screws.

Yeah, I guess that makes sense since they are mostly only used for computers and stuff