Parametric EQ assistance

Hi all I am finding my speakers to be a bit bright and have done all the room conditioning and changing positioning I can. For a lot of music they sound just right but when there are some real high frequency sounds it can sound a little harsh. I am looking at going the room eq route but at the moment dont have the time or budget to get the umik1. So looking to see if I can adjust using parametric eq to take the edge off.

I have no experience with this so some guidance of where to start and what to look out for and listen for would be helpful.

Thanks
CG

This is what I use for this exact purpose. It seems to take the edge off without losing too much detail. I’m sure others will chime in with improvements over my simple approach.

What bands have you set, filter type andq are you using, I can’t see from that image.

Hmm had my hearing tested today as have been having Tinnitus for a while that’s not going. I have some loss in the 4k region and some around 30hz which seems to be the culprit. I do feel sensitive to other high frequencies so wonder if this is a result of this and my ears over compensating? Will have to play around with that Freq and see if it improves the fatigue I keep getting .

The picture shows five filters. The first filter, Band 1 being the large green dot, which is active in the screenshot, is a low shelf filter that isn’t doing anything (0 dB). The fifth filter, Band 5 with the purple dot, is a dip filter to -24 dB at 8kHz.

I’d suggest a gentler approach along the lines of the “house curve” example in this KB article.

1 Like

Hmm that seems to cover bass end rather than the upper end I take it the same approach applies?

I recently changed my office setup so that was a quick and dirty first cut to keep my ears from bleeding. You’re right, it does need some tweaking.

Part II of the article deals with full range house curves. Scroll down a bit.