Playback Jitter/Distortion/crackling for 1-3 seconds every 10-20 seconds

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)

iMAC intel quad core 3ghz 16gb ram OSX Big Sur 11.0.1 (20850) Roon 1.7 build 667 (latest)

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)

Xfinity Router, have tried both WiFi and Ethernet, there is no difference in the issue…

Audio Devices (Specify what device you’re using and its connection type - USB/HDMI/etc.)

Blusound Node 2i, Connected to External Pagoda DAC via optical (also tried coax), (also tried without DAC straight RCA, but same results) going to Rega Amp, (also tried different amp), Zu Speakers.

Description Of Issue

I am new to Roon, and this problem is there from the first song i played. I have tried ALOT of things including suggestions on this forum and google searches.

No matter what i play, whether local file or qoboz, the music distorts/jitters/stutters every 10 seconds or so, very easily reproducible. I can play (and have been for years) from Itunes Via airplay to the bluesound or the qoboz app just fine. never had a problem i have hi speed network close, but i tried both WiFi and Ethernet, but it does the exact same thing on both.
I have tried changing just about every setting in both the blusound app and the roon settings. As a test i also just tried through a headphone amp and its fine, so the issue seems to be with communication between blusound and roon applications. I have used the blusound without any issues for years, and even now, if i just use Itunes or QoBoz through bluesound there is No issue. It was only introduced when trying to use Roon. I am very technical so have tried troubleshooting for hours, but am out of ideas.

Please Help!!!

Eric M
Sausalito, CA

2 Likes