Playing multichannel music from NAS with Roon

Hello Roon community,

I am new to Roon and very happy about the powerful Roon features to tailor my library and playlists. The only missing option is to play multichannel music from my Synology NAS. I went through all existing multichannel related threads in this community and still wonder how I can play MCH music with my current setup:

• Roon core an NAS
  • Roon client on Macbook Pro 2017
  • Pioneer AV Receiver
  • Apple TV 4K
  • OLED Philips TV
  • DUNE HD Player SoloLite

I created several endpoints in my Roon client but Roon always strips down from 5.1 to Stereo (as shown in many other threads), I assume since the music is transferred via Airplay or Chromecast. Without Roon I used to stream the MCH music from my NAS to DUNE feeding my Pioneer receiver via HDMI which worked perfectly. But including DUNE via Airplay does not work. Do you see a chance to get MCH running with my setup above or do I need to purchase an additional ROON ready device?

Thanks for your hints, Matt

I doubt that AirPlay supports multichannel (but I don’t use it so I cannot be certain).

Hallo Matthias,

The good news: it is possible to play multichannel (mch) music with Roon on a AV receiver.

The mixed news: According to the Roon knowledge base multichannel files in flac, aac and some other filetypes are supported and devices supporting ALAC are able to get this out. Unfortunately I already have an open ticked regarding mch AAC files not recognised by Roon.
Also not all devices support multichannel output.

The bad news: an Apple TV which is perfectly able to output mch is not supported as Roon device. Also the Raspberry PI using the ALSA drivers does not support 24bit and higher sample rates via HDMI without a custom compiled kernel.

After quite some testing I ended up with a NUC (or in my case a Lenovo m90n). These devices can run a Roon client or server via ROCK or WIN10 using hdmi to connect to a AV receiver.