Poorest sound quality when playing through Sonica DAC

Using the latest Roon build.

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)
Linksys Velop WiFi to connect Roon Core on MacBook Pro to network

Description Of Issue
I am new to Roon and plead total ignorance but I can hear significant differences when playing the the exact same track (DSD64) with identical headphones directly from the Core via an Oppo USB HA-2 DAC (using this same method the SQ via Audirvana was even better, but that’s a different topic).

See:

However the poorest quality was when I connected the Roon Core via USB to my Oppo Sonica DAC and then to an Arcam-rHead (w/balanced XLR cables) and then to the headphones. You can
see why here:

I can’t tell whether this is a Roon issue or hardware issue (faulty USB-C to USB-B cable?) but when re-setting up the Sonica (after deleting it) I could not get Roon to recognize the input method. It wants to use Airplay no matter what I do. Suggestions?

Well, my first suggestion is show a pic of your Settings/Audio. It looks like you are using OS Mixer when you should be using CoreAudio out for SQ.

Hi @Mark_Ellenbogen,

Welcome to the forum! It looks like your playing via System Output and Airplay, both which don’t support DSD playback in the native form and the content is downsampled to match the maximum sample rate of these zones.

I would navigate to Roon Settings -> Audio and take a look for the Oppo native driver, enable it and set Roon to output to this zone instead. More information on audio setup can be found in our Audio Basics Setup Guide.

Not 100% sure if this is what you mean but here is settings/audio:

Your Mac core doesn’t appear to be seeing the usb connection to the sonica dac, which on the Mac will only support up to dsd256 but it should work. Instead of a usb-c to b cable try a usb a-c cable and a usb c to a adapter

I can try this tomorrow with my sonica dac and my 2018mbp but it’s 1:25am here now