Question about NAD C388

Hi all,

I’m new to all this, so sorry if this has been answered before. :slightly_smiling_face:

I just discovered Roon and bought myself a Roon Labs Nucleus, and I must say I am very impressed!!
I have a Hegel H95 amp, that’s not Roon Ready, and probably never will be?
So i am thinking of buying a new amp that’s Roon Ready, and sell my Hegel.

So I’m looking at the NAD C388? Would you recommend this amp?
Can i control the volume from the Roon remote app to this amp?
Do I need a BluOS module to control the volume from the roon remote app?

Thanks for all answers! :+1:

Regards
Edvardsen

You can make any amp ready just by adding either a network bridge or Roon ready DAC.

For example, there is the allo digione which takes Ethernet in and puts out coax and is a Roon Endpoint.

That way you can get Roon to stream to your Hegel.

1 Like

Hi Rugby,

And thanks for answering me.

Thanks for the tip regarding adding a network bridge or a Roon ready DAC.

But I’m thinking about buying myself a new Roon ready amp?
So i have my eyes on the NAD C388?
Do you now if i can control the volume from the Roon remote app to this amp or do I need a BluOS module?

Thanks again for all answers!

Regards
Edvardsen

Hi Harry,

Well, I home demo’d that NAD and returned it in favor of a Peachtree. Additionally, I do not use software volume controls and only use hardware controls. So, I am not the best to answer those direct questions.

Although, you do need the bluOS module for that amp to be Roon Ready; as Roon Ready specifically means the device has a network connection and is running integrated Roon endpoint code. Without that module, the amp does not have a network connection and is not running the Roon endpoint code as that is part of the module.

1 Like

Hi Rugby,

And thanks for the answer! :+1:
Really appreciate the answers! I’m pretty new to this music stream world.
I learn a little every day. :slightly_smiling_face: