Questions about Allo, iFi, and MQA

Hi @support I have some questions about MQA support with my setup. First things first: everything is working finde with my Poly-Mojo set as “renderer” and i have some experience using MQA-files with my meridian and iFi DAC connected directly to my mac. Meridian Explorer 2 via USB@Allo Digi One and MQA passthrough works as well.

Setups:

A) Audio set to “MQA renderer” in Roon -> Allo Digi One Player -> SPDIF/Chinch -> iDSD Micro BL -> Chinch-> Preamp/Amp…

See Screenshot. Lamp at iDSD is green (no MQA)
Q: I guess its because the SPDIF does not transport the MQA Data to the DAC?

B) Audio set to “No MQA Support” in Roon -> Allo Digi One Player -> USB -> iDSD Micro BL -> Chinch-> Preamp/Amp…

See Screenshot. Lamp at iDSD is green (no MQA)
Q: So what does that mean? First unfold is still “there”, but not “more”? Still more potential if “Renderer would be checked in roon”?

C) Audio set to “MQA Renderer” in Roon -> Allo Digi One Player -> USB -> iDSD Micro BL -> Chinch-> Preamp/Amp…

See Screenshot. Lamp at iDSD is yellow (jaaaay!).

Q: So that is the best performance my setup is capable of… but unfortunately my sound breaks every few seconds :confused: with this setting. The Allo Digi One is running the latest version of Volumio and connected to 1 Gb/s Cable.

Too weak Hardware (Allo Digi One)?
Something with the iDSD and MQA (its not on your list afaik)?
Maybe still network?

Any idea where to start looking?

Thanks in advance!

Hello @Ramona_Kollar-Neuber,

I moved your post into a new thread so that I can give you the proper attention.

For Setup A, you are correct, the iFI does not do MQA over SPDIF

For Setups B&C, you should have Roon Device Setup MQA capability setting to “Renderer Only” for the iFi to work with MQA correctly