Questions about connecting my core to a Marantz ND8006

Hello,

I’m relatively new to Roon. I’ve built a core out of a Intel NUCi3, with 16 g of ram, a M.2 drive for running Roon and an internal 2TB SSD drive for music storage. I have already ripped and loaded about 650 gigs of uncompressed files on my nuc and everything seems to be running great. I have it hooked up to the internet through with a lan line into my main router. I can play it wirelessly through my room apps on my phone and iPad and also through my Marantz nd8006 media hub via airplay and/or Bluetooth. The ND8006 is also hooked up to the internet through the same router so they are part of the same network.

My question is this. How can I hook the core up to my Marantz Nd8006 using the USB input? I’ve already tried and it doesn’t seem to be recognized by the Marantz unit. Do I need to download a special driver onto the core so it will work with the Marantz? Can I even do this? I’d really love to use Roon hard wired and not just WiFi if possible. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Assuming you are running ROCK on the NUC, you can’t use the (and probably don’t need) the Marantz driver, which is only for Windows PC. Linux doesn’t require a driver and neither does MacOS. Have you tried it?

I did plug it in and the ND8006 didn’t seem to recognize the nuc. I’ll unplug everything and turn it off and retry though.

It should be Roon recognizing the Marantz, not the other way around. Did you try going into Roon and configuring ROCK to act as a endpoint. I don’t think that is automatic, I think you need to enable the USB output for ROCK. You can do this via the web interface to ROCK, if I recall correctly.

That makes sense, I’ll give that a try. Thank you.