Radio playback chooses Tidal MP3 over Qobuz CD quality

I have noticed that when playing in radio mode if a track exists in both Tidal and Qobuz ROON will play the Tidal version.

The issue I have is it often selects MP3 quality even though a CD quality is available via Qobuz service.

Can ROON do something to prevent mp3 playback altogether via Tidal?

Ray

2 Likes

Have you got the Tidal Hi Fi account. I never see MP3 on Tidal myself.

Please share the exact track details. Are the identical releases of the same music?

The has been other tracks also, can’t recall exact titles but see the screen shots above for an example. Same Album Artist etc, one Tidal version and one Qobuz. ROON plays the mp3 version. I am sure a while back I selected for Tidal not to play any MP3 material within a setting. And yes I have a Tidal subscription for Flac quality music .

WTF, don’t how ROON Radio got from old school ambient to the following track but anyhow it is also MP3 and no other version available.

If you have music that’s only available in MP3 on Tidal, that’s all it can play. I only come across these rarely but this experience will differ for all based on our music preference.

See the screen shots, first bunch, same Album via Tidal mp3 via Qobuz Flac

I think the radio behavior as is is not optimal.
There should be at least a setting that plays primary versions only if there are more versions of an album.
This way each user can decide his primary version and what he wants to hear from radio.

There are more topics on the forum about this issue and I hope that the Roon team looks into it, that’s why I flag @support here.

Cheers
NOA

Hey everyone,

I understand there have been some questions about why Roon Radio picks lower quality version of a song when higher quality copies of the same song are available.