Raspberry Pi 4 HDMI Output

Hi, Would anyone know what maximum sample rate is available from the HDMI output of a Raspberry Pi 4 ? Considering getting one as a Roon endpoint into my Devialet D Premier. Thank You

1 Like

I don’t believe the HDMI port is supported, I think you may need a s/pdif hat. But I’m happy to be corrected.

1 Like

Hi Tom,

For a Roon bridge, as Mike mentioned above, not needed. I am running 2 Pi 3B with Ropieee and a couple of Google Chromecast Ultra for the display’s. So far very happy.

Works with Volumio and Roon plugin. I used 96khz.

1 Like

This is something I have zero personal experience with, but I thought it all depends on which OS your RPi4 is on. If it’s RoPieee, then, as my understanding goes, HDMI NOT supported. Don’t know about which other OS’s might support it, but certainly the HDMI output is there for a reason. Do all RPi4 compatible OS’s shutdown the HDMI port when Roon Bridge is installed (of course with RoPieee, you don’t need to have a separate instance of Roon Bridge installation, correct?) Thinking of tinkering with the Raspberry Pi4, so I actually would like to know a definitive answer to the OP’s question.

I’ve moved this over to the #audio-products:raspberry-pi area as its device specific.

1 Like

You’re quick on the draw; thought I corrupted the OP’s thread somehow. The exact second after I posted, the whole thread disappeared! :laughing: :wink:

Thank you for the input and posts. Much appreciated.

As said, it works with Volumio and its Roon bridge plugin.

1 Like

Does it now support multi-channel audio over HDMI? For a long time, this has not been possible using Linux(es) on RPi; just wondering if the situation has changed…

It works. As room bridge plugin for Volumio. I suspect that DHCP is an issue and the Volumio people forgot about it…I have no other idea why Ropie3 disables the HDMI port. As the R4 has two HDMI port, it should be possible to use one in a more audiophile fashion, like the Oppos do.