Raspberry Pi 4 to Mac, cable how?

I’m new to Raspberry Pi and want to experiment using it as a streamer for Roon.

I have the Raspberry Pi OS on a Micro SD and requisite USB and Ethernet cables etc.

But, keeping it as simple as possible, I’d like to configure the Raspberry Pi 4 (4GB) using:

1. ideally my 2018 MacBook Pro (15-inch) running macOS 14.4.1, or
  2. failing that 'Late 2017’ iMac Pro running 13.6.6.

Because each desktop machine has Thunderbolt 3, is it simply a case of buying a micro HDMI - to (USB-C) cable?

If so, any recommendations of exactly the one to get, please?

Adapter? Anything else?

When I’ve done that, do I leave the SD card attached to the Raspberry Pi… I really am new to this :slight_smile: .

TIA!

Mark,

Have you thought about:

You can easily create an installer for from your Mac using:

I did this and love it:

2 Likes

Hi, @DDPS; how are you?

Thanks very much for that!

In fact I already have the Raspberry Pi OS on an SD; so I’ve concluded that I’ve got everything covered except being able to see either the Raspberry Pi 4 desktop or its CLI on my Mac desktop/portables.

I’d rather do that (connect to a Mac) - in the interests of keeping it simple. Raspberry Pi 4 is to be a second/subsidiary endpoint because my WiiM Pro works so well, and is my default.

However - many thanks for the link to RoPieee. I note it says that I can simply (‘without any intervention’) ‘enable[ a] USB port for playing audio over an USB DAC’.

I have been planning to output from the Raspberry Pi 4 to the USB digital inout of my ParaSound Halo P6.

Would RoPieee be a simpler way to achieve this?

This page suggests it would because my Raspberry Pi 4 would be headless and configurable from within Roon.

What I don’t want to do is add complications to Roon and compromise its stability and/or integrity by adding an extra layer just for the sake of experimenting.

Have you used RoPieee (this way), @DDPS?