Raspberry Pi SD Card Lifespan

The Raspi is known to eat its memory card where the OS sits. So yo have to be prepared to burn a new card at least every year. And yes, with WiFi only it makes little sense.
Streaming a webradio via Roon sometimes is Trick as it breaks up here and there. Streaming it via the Raspi is more stable.
The Raspi is great for adding another endpoint in another room, but direct connection seems better if possible.

Would you have any reference for that statement, other than your post?
:exploding_head:
I’ve been running at least one Pi at any time for the last 10 years, all sorts of OS’s and applications, reflashing included, but never lost one single card…(on the other hand, I lost 3 SD cards in my seven years of use of an Samsung S5 on Lineage OS).
I strongly suspect that one must very likely have erroneously configured a swap partition, excessive logging or the like for the SD card to fail as described.

2 Likes

I have no scientific source for that. I went through 3 SD card over 3 years with 6 Raspis. The SD cards, like USB sticks use a different technology from SSD and are more failure prone. It is not recommended to use SD or USB for long term data storage. I haven one Raspi running an OpenHAB db and have implemented that on an attached SSD while booting from the SD, whereas upon boot, the SD is copied into the Ram and the OS runs then from there. This is the safest way.

That’s the usual way to run RPis, unless one tinkers without understanding.
:exploding_head:
But what’s the reason for exaggerating the factual experience when saying …

… while you actually went through …

:interrobang:

The tales of SD card woes would perhaps make more sense if the card brands were known. I’ve known cheap unbranded cards to go west very quickly. SanDisk cards tend to be reliable in my experience…

2 Likes

Because I hardly shut down my Raspis and let them run 24/7. It might have been more SD cards. I might publish details one of these days in Nature.