Recommended endpoints with SPDIF/AES digital out

Greetings,

I’m posting on behalf of a friend who I am encouraging to give Roon a spin. He is a complete novice with regards to networked audio. Given that I will end up being his remote “tech support” person I seek your collective help/recommendations with regards to the following issues:

What audio endpoints have either SPDIF or AES digital outputs? His legacy DAC does not have a USB input and initially he would like to go direct from the endpoint into his DAC.

Which endpoints are the simplest to set up? Ease of use and stability are preferred over ultimate sonic quality. I just want him to experience computer audio with minimal setup. He can later upgrade to more ambitious endpoints devices once he’s hooked on Roon.

I use Hifiberry Digi+ with optical out for my Kef LS50 Wirelsess while waiting for them to become Roon Ready :slight_smile: Works very well, sounds good.

1 Like

DCS Network Bridge

Probably cheapest solution with no DIY skills is Sonore Sonicorbiter

I appreciate your suggestions. The Hifiberry Digi+ looks too DIY for my level of expertise. I’d really like a turnkey solution, just plug n’play.

I like the idea of the Sonore Sonicorbiter but I am specifically seeking an endpoint that has a SPDIF or AES digital out as I don’t want to have to use a
USB>>SPDIF converter. Correct me if I’m wrong but it doesn’t look like the Sonicorbiter has a SPDIF output.

On the same note, is the Sonicorbiter Roon ready? I may not understand the difference between Roon ready/roon certified, etc but I’d like a device that just connects to the Ethernet cable and outputs the signal through the SPDIF
jack.

The DCS is swell but probably too expensive as a starting point just to get my friend into the realm of roon.