Request for Synology 923+ hardware configuration tip for fast NAS response

Hardware setup:

I have just ordered a Synology DiskStation DS923+ with 2x Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12GB HDD.

This will be set up with RAID1 (mirror) and used as storage for 5TB with *.flac files

ROON is installed on a NUC11TNHI7 / 64GB DDR4 3200 MHz / 1 TB M.2 NVME SSD 7300/6000 MB/s.

Using 1Gb network for now. (NUC is overkill yes, but have longer lifespan)

Question:

I have no experience with NAS units, but is a bit worried for delays when ROON is accessing files on the NAS.

Should I upgrade this NAS with 2x M.2 NVME SSD 7300/6000 MB/s as buffer for faster response / less delay for ROON user experience?

How much RAM should this NAS have?
It comes with 4GB and can be (8, 16, or 32GB)

How can I reduce waiting delay in the ROON when accessing the files?

Thanks

Warning: this is one man’s opinion, and not everybody here is going to agree.

I think your NAS by itself is all you need.

Here are a few key nice things about the 9xx+ series, and I take advantage of ALL of them in my own implementation:

1. Run Roon on NAS.

2. But also install Synology Audio Station so that you have an alternative, very capable and mature alternative playback platform for all of your music (and one that doesn’t require an active Internet connection!!). If your music is well-tagged, it’s a compelling offering. It also allows you to create smart playlists using smart rules in a manner that Roon is not capable of, including by track date. Neat trick: you can export those smart playlists to static playlists, and Roon will synchronize them and show them in its own playlist list. You also then can run DS Audio on your mobile device and get functionality similar to ARC, and it is a more mature and robust remote playback solution.

3. Fill up all 4 slots with large drives and use SHR2 to allow for two drives’ worth of redundancy in regard to data integrity as well as higher throughput.