ROCK: M2 not recognised after BIOS update

Roon Core Machine

ROCK on a NUC8i3BEH with 256GB Samsung M.2 SSD, 8GB memory and a 1TB WD drive for storage.

Description of Issue

I’ve been running this setup for 3-4 years with no problems. Recently the NUC started to make a bit of noise so I upgraded the BIOS [BECFL357] and now ROCK won’t start.

It tells me ‘A bootable device has not been detected.’ Rock is installed on the M2 - the M2 is listed under Devices > SATA in BIOS but not listed as a bootable device.

Any advice welcome.

Thanks.

Rock does not seem to be in play yet. The BIOS needs to find the bootable disk first, then it hands off the control to the operating system that is installed on this disk (the RoonOS of Rock in this case). However, it doesn’t even get that far.

This sounds like an issue with the BIOS or its installation. Intel has some instructions here, but they are not very comprehensive:

Please take photos of what you see in the BIOS and post them here.

Most likely, the noise you heard before the BIOS update was already part of the problem, maybe the NUC was already failing. What kind of noise was that?

I would also go through the BIOS settings and make sure they are correct:

To repeat/confirm - this setup has worked flawlessly for 2-3 years. I installed it all from scratch. A recent BIOS update seems to have killed ROCK’s ability to recognise the M2 card. The BIOS update installed fine and I can boot into BIOS with no issue. All BIOS settings are correct. The M2 card is displayed in BIOS under Devices > SATA - but not listed as a boot drive.

I am pretty tech-savvy (I’ve built and configured Unix servers for years) and it looks very much to me like the issue is with ROCK.

Perhaps I should re-install ROCK?

Is anyone from support able to advise?

Screenshots of relevant BIOS pages:

You shouldn’t have messed with it then! :wink: