ROCK on HDPLEX (specification recommendations)

Hi there,

I am new to this this nice forum and I have been trying hard to research for the hardware specifications to build a Roonserver only running Rock OS with a HDPlex chassis, which in my case would be a perfect aesthetic match with my new Naim system :musical_score:
I can find lots of old topics and suggestions, but no new ones with what hardware people would suggest and recommend for a 2023 build.

So I would really appreciate you guys to advice me i my “quest”
Especially which mainboard, passive cooling solution, CPU and which HDPlex model etc… for a 2023 build.
:pray:

Roon ROCK is for the specified Intel NUC hardware. Loading it on anything else is considered tinkering and is not officially supported. That might not matter to you. If it does and you want to use the HDPlex then load Linux and the linux RoonServer.

@Rugby, the small HDPlex is NUC compatible. It’s quite a bit bigger than an Akasa, but quite well finished. On the upside, the cooling capability is probably quite a bit higher than you’d get on a smaller, lighter case.

@Lars_Sander, I’m using a NUC7i7, so a Nucleus+ from a few years ago clone. You can email the HDPlex guy and ask about compatibility with the later generations - it should be OK.

Do keep in mind that you need to buy an extra cooler for the NUC board, and also that building HDPlex boxes isn’t as easy as building a “regular” computer (getting the heat pipes aligned can be tricky for example).

HDPLEX do have a model that officially supports 7th & 8th Generation Intel NUC’s, you would need to purchase the NUC kit as an extra: HDPLEX H1 V3 Fanless PC Case

I don’t know if later model NUC’s would work in the chassis, you would need to email Larry from HDPLEX to find out.

Edit: Ha, you beat me to it @Xekomi