Roon and CXN/DSD disappointment. DSD suggestions please

Recently purchased Roon as I love the interface and was looking forward to playing my DSD files via my hard ethernet wired CXN. My core is my QNAP server where all my files.
Big disappointment that I cannot play DSD with Roon and CXN. Only can play via Airplay even though all connections are ethernet.
I have basic knowledge but I would really appreciate some suggestions as to what hardware I could purchase to enable me to play DSD with Roon from all my MAC devices.
I can play DSD with the CXN via external HDD connected to front CXN USB port and with CA App (and other apps) but not with my expensive Roon apps and service.

It is UPNP not a Roon compatible endpoint, how about adding an Allo.com USbridge I use one to connect a Chord Hugo2, it is a great little device.

CA looks like they will not be going Roon Certified until Roon is “bigger” in a recent reply.

There is another CXN thread at present about connections btw

I have put a RPi in between but the CXN isn’t being seen by Roon. Even then the best you will see is 24 192 maybe even 24 88,2. So I still get AirPlay as best at the moment. I still keep my. JRiver library live to stream DSD and SACD ISO and other hi res sources

There has been much comment re SACD iso replay but no movement yet

Not too positive a reply I am afraid

Mike

Thanks for your suggestion. Excuse my ignorance, so I’d ethernet connect the USbridge, connect an external HDD to the USbridge and use Roon via phone, iPad or Macs and DSD will play? Or do I connect the USbridge to the CXN via USB then connect the HDD to the USbridge and Roon will play DSD via the devices and their apps?
Cheers.

Thanks Mike, sounds like a decent suggestion. I was getting DSD playback (I think) via Audinirvana) . I’ regretting Roon as it seems JRiver and or Audinirvana can play DSD with the CXN and Apple devices.
Cheers

I know it’s contentious BUT