Roon cannot recognize external hard drive connected to Nucleus via USB

I am new to Roon and trying to play music from an external SSD formatted as NTFS. I connected the hard drive to the Nucleus via the USB port on the back and rebooted the Nucleus. When I go to Settings > Storage, I do not see the hard drive. The music files on the drive are FLAC and they are not in a subfolder. What am I doing wrong?

Did you reboot everything after attaching the drive?

Yes, I rebooted everything. I have the SSD connected to the Nucleus via USB. The Nucleus is connected to my receiver via a Meridian Media Source 200. I’m running Roon from a Windows 10 laptop. I can see the MS200 and my laptop, but not the SSD.

Nothing. Although Roon implies it will find your external USB drive, that doesn’t seem to happen automagically.

I just connected an external USB drive (WINDATA4) as an experiment.

In Settings==>Storage==> ‘Add Folder’, select your USB drive.

Also, if you map the Nucleus Data directory in WIN10 File Explorer, you should see your drive listed. You can then use that to copy new music over the network without reconnecting the drive to another computer.

I use a ROCK machine, but it should be the same for a Nucleus. I didn’t need to reboot anything for this to work.

Yes, I’m looking in Setting==>Storage==>‘Add Folder’, but it is blank.

Hmm, then I would say that either your drive/cable is bad or the Nucleus USB port is bad.

Did you try another USB port?

Can you see the drive connected to the Nucleus in File Explorer?

Yes, I tried both USB ports. I doubt the cable is bad because I can see the files if I connect the SSD to my laptop. I do not know how to see the Nucleus in File Explorer.

Find your Nucleus IP address and use that to map a network drive on your WIN10 laptop.

In my example above, it’s \\192.168.0.208\data.

Thanks. Got there, but do not see the SSD.