ROON_DATAROOT - where to set?

Hello. I’m new to Roon. I’ve installed the server via the easy install package on Ubuntu 14.04
I want the data folder to be in a different location. Do I just edit /etc/init.d/roonserver and change the ROON_DATAROOT env var there?

Then do I just restart the server?

Hi, @Allan_Marcus, could you please give this article a read, and if then you have any questions we will be glad to answer them.

Thanks!

Ivan

yes. I read that article. My question still applies.

Edit it in the installation script then run the install.

Ok, thanks. I’ve already run the installer! So now where does it need to be edited.

Would have been nice if the article suggested editing the installer script. there is NOTHING in the article about editing the installer script first! In fact, the suggestion in the article is to set the env var every time before running start.sh.

so, again, thanks for the info, but now that I have already run the installer, where does it need to be edited? Just in init.d, or somewhere else too?

Not sure, it’s been a long time since I’ve looked at it. I recall the script could also be used to uninstall- do that, then edit it and reinstall.

For Ubuntu 16.04 and above (systemd)

The best thing is to modify the roonserver.service file (located at /etc/systemd/system/)

First stop RoonServer by entering:
(ignore sudo if you are already root user)

sudo systemctl stop roonserver
sudo systemctl disable roonserver

Then edit the service file:

sudo nano /etc/systemd/system/roonserver.service

Edit these lines to match your preferred directory:

Environment=ROON_DATAROOT=/var/roon
Environment=ROON_ID_DIR=/var/roon

Save by hitting CTRL+O (not zero) and press enter. Leave the editor by pressing CTRL+X.

The enable and start Roon Server again:

sudo systemctl enable roonserver
sudo systemctl start roonserver

I’d advise against editing the start.sh script, as it might get updated by a Roon update and you have to do the modifications again.