Roon Docker Unraid help

Hi folks

Trying to get to grips with dockers apparently its the future.

I have roon running in unraid, I can connect to the server. When I attempt to add a share, which apparently should be very easy in a docker I cannot find it.

How do I add my shares to roon in an unraid docker? the share name is unsurprisingly ‘music’

I am no Docker expert (I pretty much avoid it if I can, since it’s really not as hot as the hype suggests it is), but check out “Spaceinvader One”'s YouTube channel. He has lots of “how to” guides for Unraid, including setting various things up in Docker. I doubt he has one for Roon specifically, but his Docker videos should at least point you in the right direction.

Note that if you only link out of the container for the raw music files, then when you have to rebuild the container (and you will, because Docker…), you will lose ALL your Roon settings, since Docker containers are meant to be code only and no data, and are replaced in their entirety. What you want to do is figure out how to tell Unraid’s Docker to pass two shares through to the container, which will be seen within the container as virtual mount points. One is your music share, which you would pass through as read-only to something like /mnt/music. The other is a share you should create for “Roon Config” and pass through at /var/roon (note all lowercase!) within the container so that all the Roon settings and metadata get saved outside of the container. You also might consider creating a third share for “Roon Backups” and pass that through to say /mnt/roonbackups and then configure Roon to save its automatic backups to that.

Much smarter is to use a VM instead of Docker, however… Unraid also supports KVM/QEMU-based VMs.

Hi thanks for that,