Roon Extension: Rotel Volume/Source Control

Hi all,

I just published a first version of my new ‘Rotel Volume/Source Control Extension’ on GitHub:

It uses the network interface (not RS232) of a Rotel amplifier to control volume, source and standby. I’m using it with my Rotel RC 1590 preamp but it should work with other Rotel devices, too, as long as the protocol is equal. This depends on the exact model and/or firmware of the Rotel amp.

Are there any Rotel users around here? Which Rotel amp do you use?

Any feedback is welcome, have fun!

4 Likes

Many thanks, looking into buying a Rotel preamp RC 1572 so this is very helpful. Unfortunately I am not an expert on Linux but managed to get Roon extensions working o2n an RPI with Dietpi installed and can add additional extensions providing they are visible in Roon.

@Jan_Koudijs will this extension be taken up as well same as the other ones there are?

Regards,
Norwin

If it’s OK with @Boris_Schaedler then it can be included.

Sure @Jan_Koudijs go ahead! I did not look into the extension manager until now, so how or where are other extensions added?

@Norwin_van_Mourik let me know if everything works as intended with the RC 1572. Don’t forget to set the power mode to ‘quick’, otherwise the network part of the preamp will also be down when you turn it off…

I have sent you a PM with more information.

This extension is now included in the Extension Repository. Check this post for details.

Thanks @Boris_Schaedler for creating the Rotel extension!

Thanks @Norwin_van_Mourik for suggesting inclusion!

Thanks both. Now I can safely purchase the Rotel end of the month. Looking forward.

Regards,
Norwin

1 Like

I have a Rotel RCX-1500

however it seems to have different protocol, because the extension cannot connect to my rotel :frowning:

Hi Jasper,
is your firmware up to date? What version do you have?

boris,

i’m completely up to date

all firmwares from the bwsupport site are all installed: