Roon freezes after minimizing

Roon Core Machine

Windows 10 PC, streaming the music to Naim Atom HE via ethernet. 4k monitor so windows scaling is at 200%

Roon generally works fine, but if I minimize the app on my PC, and then restore/maximize it back, the Roon screen is frozen. Music continues playing, but I can’t do anything in the app, none of the buttons are responsive. So, the only thing to do is close the app and restart it.

I’ve been using Roon for many months now, and love the application, but this issue is extremely frustrating and preventing me from fully endorsing it.

I’m hoping there’s a solution for this.

Networking Gear & Setup Details

Connected Audio Devices

Number of Tracks in Library

Description of Issue

@support, help please?

If you haven’t found it yet, see this thread.

1 Like

Hi Eric,

Thank you for bearing with us while we catch up from the 2.0 rush.

First off, we are collecting instances of Windows locking up. We are only seeing a small number of these from the entirety of our user base and it makes this really hard to isolate. Making it worse, we’re unable to duplicate it but that doesn’t mean we’re done trying.

I have something that I’d like you to try.

1. With Roon closed, navigate to C:\Users(username)\AppData\Local\Roon\Database\Registry\Client

2. Find the file there called saved_window_pos and rename it to saved_window_pos.old

This file contains the information on the Roon window size and position and I’m hoping to find that the renaming and subsequent rebuilding of the file will fix it for you.

Please let me know! This is a pretty quick change to implement and I’d love to hear back from you with your results.

Thanks,
Wes

Hello Wes,
I actually have had the same issue on Windows 10 but haven’t reported it. I’ve been following the main thread on the topic for a while now though.