Roon is displaying 2 or 3 copies of each album

Hi All,

I’m very new to Roon and ROCK…

I have all my music files stored on a NAS, when I first set the Roon, it got all the files, trouble is that now I have 2 or 3 copies of each album! I would like to only have one of each and started to eliminate duplicates but, since I have a little over 2000 albums, it would take me forever to do it this way…

Is there a way to eliminate all duplicates in one swift operation? Or, clean out Roon and rescan the NAS?
Also, would any of these affect the original files on the NAS?

I would greatly appreciate it if you can help me out with this
Thanks!

Are you saying you actually have more than one version of albums and don’t want to see the duplicates?
Don’t “delete” them in Roon, that will actually delete them. Roon will warn you before it does this though.
You can “mark” duplicates and under the edit function tell Roon to “group” alternate versions. Then you will only see one.

is the same version of an album appearing 2 or 3 times!
If I delete any of the duplicates, does it delete from Roon only? or from the NAS as well?

Deleting files in Roon deletes them in your storage library as well. You are warned of this during the process with ample time to abort.

DELETING a file from Roon will delete the file completely from your NAS. IN order to discuss the best next steps, finding out why there are duplicates is the first step.

On your NAS, how many copies of the album do you really have? For example, if you have a MUSIC directory and then a copy of that directory for a backup (as an example), when Roon scans your system it will see 2 copies in different locations on your NAS. In this case, you would want to exclude those backup directories from Roon’s scan process so those copies do not show up.