Roon keeps stopping on its own—help!

Core Machine (Operating system/System info/Roon build number)

Small Green Computer sonicTransporter i5 (running sonicorbiter 2.8), Roon Core version 1.7 (build 710)

Network Details (Including networking gear model/manufacturer and if on WiFi/Ethernet)

I’m running Roon Core from a Small Green Computer sonicTransporter i5 (running sonicOrbiter 2.8). From there -> Ethernet cable -> GigaFOIL-INLINE Ethernet Filter -> Ethernet cable -> Sonore ultraRendu (running sonicorbiter 2.8) -> USB cable -> Uptone Audio ISO Regen -> USB cable -> Denafrips Gaia D-to-D -> I2S-A (Ethernet cable) -> Denafrips Terminator DAC.

Issue

I’m trying to have Roon play continuously, but it keeps stopping playback by itself every hour on average, sometimes less frequently, sometimes more. Sometimes it stops at the end of a track, sometimes in the middle. Can you please help?

Are you getting an error message?

nope, it just stops.

I have no direct experience with any of the kit you’re using, but have you tried simplifying the signal path between the sonicTransporter and the DAC? If you can get continuous playback with a more direct connection it would help troubleshoot the issue.

1 Like

That was my next guess. That’s a ton of interconnects going on there.

I have not. It is a pretty complex path, but all of it is there because it improves the sound. What would you suggest removing?

Everything between the source and the DAC. Then start adding things back in one at a time.

1 Like

Agreed. Get everything as simple as possible and go from there. It may well be that you still have an issue with the rest of the gear removed but, if so, we’ll know it’s a problem with the communication between your core and DAC. Assuming the problem goes away, adding things back one at a time should identify the culprit, assuming the problem isn’t down to some complex interaction between the various components.

Could be a good time to check the cables too.

1 Like