Roon not very green/wastes lots of CPU when not in use

I track the energy draw from my Intel NUC with Roon on. This is on Ubuntu 22.04 but not sure that’s entirely relevant here.

As a software engineer myself I’m particularly keen on things not wasting CPU. I’m perfectly fine with Roon drawing whatever it needs when music is playing or doing housekeeping like backups. I’m cool with it spending a bit of time doing checking on your connected music services.
My issue is that it seems to continually keep rescanning files, even when there are perfectly good APIs that let you know when files and folders change so that you don’t have to poll.

However, on average I would say it uses between 15-50% in the background and this is on a 12th Generation Intel and you can do a LOT with that kind of CPU power.

At night now I use HomeAssistant to kill the Roon process when my house alarm goes on and then restarts the service when it goes off to be a tad more ‘green’. I shouldn’t have to do this though/

What do other peoples Roon processes do - they go largely quiescent once the music stops?

1 Like

I had a look right now, running Roon Server on Win 11 (22H2), and i cant see any consumption at all while idle… Stopped playing music while looking at the CPU Time column in activity manager, and no ticking up on the clock while stopped.
Started playback after 3-4minutes and Activity Manager added one second of CPU Time…(And then i upsample to Max PCM ‘Integer’ also…)
So, no, not much activity while idle. But i know that Roon does “phone home” occasionally so i am assuming it doesn’t stay completely quiet…

2 Likes

It’s active all the time on Rock. I can see the network being used even when not in use and I am away from home at moment it’s been idle since Saturday morning but still has managed to download 3.2MB per day. Not huge but it shows it’s doing stuff when idle. I can check my network remotely via UniFi app so I can see exactly what it’s doing.