Roon Nucleus RAM Upgrade?

Is there any reason to not upgrade the RAM in the Nucleus. I’m surprised it only came with 4GB. Looking to upgrade to 1 8GB stick. Thanks.

There is no reason not to. But if your library is small, there isn’t much need either. If you do want to do it then personally I’d add another identical 4gb stick.

2 Likes

Got it. Thank you! Out of curiosity, why 2x4 over 1x8?

Anyway, it is wise/necessary to check the compatibility of the RAM for the Nucleus. Not all RAM can be used for an upgrade. In case you decide to add another 4GB module in order to save some costs, it is wise/necessary to add an exact identical module. I am not an expert in this area, but in the past dual (or even triple) channel RAM with two (or even three) channels via the use of two/three modules had some advantages in speed. See the next blog from 2015: https://nucblog.net/2015/09/dual-channel-vs-single-channel-does-it-matter/

1 Like

Warranty invalidation?

1 Like

Good point. I’ll leave as is. Was just generalizing that not much seems to work well on 4gb anymore, but this works fine. Thanks.

My Roon Core running on CentOS 7 starts at about 1GB RAM used (total, not just Roon) after fresh boot and then ends up averaging steady state of around 1.5GB RAM used after running for a few weeks straight. Roon really doesn’t need much RAM, unless you have several hundred thousand tracks in your library…

That’s helpful. Thanks. My library will most likely not ever exceed 5000 albums. Its much smaller than that right now.

I’m just checking this now @Bradford_Paul. I may be mistaken.

You are allowed to change the RAM, but if it damaged by the new RAM or the upgrade process, that’s not covered under warranty.

3 Likes

Would you suggest a second identical 4gb stick or replace the existing with an 8?
In general, does the RAM upgrade process, if installed properly, go fine?
Thanks!