Roon Ready, roon Tested, roon for the People

I am in my third year as a roon subscriber. I have been following the online community since the beginning with great interest and some amusement, this is my first post, it will be a bit long, but try to bear with it.

I have a number of ‘zones’ where I want my music, Lounge (Nucleus), Kitchen (Naim Mu-so 2nd) and Attic (in2audio-Merrick 1R).

I work in my Attic have which doubles as a guest room/media room. Before roon I had Denon HEOS so had/have 2 Denon AVRs and a HEOS speaker in the Kitchen. I consider I am a bit on the spectrum being of an obsessive nature and I wanted to migrate to a complete roon environment.

The Attic was the last part of the project, I know I can stream to the Denon there via AirPlay, but I love multichannel and wanted High Res playback, (even if this one is a bit of the Emperor’s new clothes). I have an OPPO in both the Attic and Lounge that I can stream multichannel to, including DSD but I wanted the roon convenience, I am not sure I could tell you the difference between FLAC and DSD either, but I like to think I can.

I started to look around for a reasonably priced solution, roon ready equipment can be expensive, particularly for muiti-channel playback, which was the reason why I got a Nucleus, after first investing in a Cambridge N85, which didn’t fully meet my needs, all be it sounded great. I was not going to pay that kind of money for the Attic.

I decided to check out the prebuilt ROCK solution. The one I decided to go with for the Merrick 1R from the start-up company in2audio. I found the Merrick on eBay along with other ROCK solutions.