Roon + Unifi VLANS

Hi all. I just purchased a Unifi Dream Machine Pro to compliment the rest of my existing Unifi network (4 switches + 4AP’s). I’m just learning about VLANS and hoping that someone may be able to help me solve my issue. I’ll CC another couple people I’ve seen post as Unifi owners: @hells , @wizardofoz , @Jason_Carle2, @jimmyb, @ipeverywhere.

I have a few VLANS setup, including:
“Users”: Personal computers and mobile devices.
“Media”: Windows 10 Roon Core, RPis running Ropieee, and ATV’s.

I tried assigning the UDMP port connected to the Core machine with a switch profile I created called “Media Client Access” that is assigned the “Media” VLAN as native, with the “Users” VLAN tagged. I also tagged the VLAN that only includes the router (called “Router”) for good measure. I was on my laptop, connected to the SSID associated with the “Users” VLAN. When I fired up Roon it found the Core machine and it’s correct IP (assigned via DHCP, and within the “Media” VLAN subnet), but it could not connect. It showed that it was “Connecting” but kept failing and re-trying. When I changed the port profile to place the Core machine in the “Users” vlan/subnet, the same one my laptop is on, it connected fine.

My question is: If my “Media Client Access” port profile includes a tag for “Users”, then why would it have more trouble connecting to Core with that profile, that when I simply set the port to the “Users” VLAN only?

My assumption is that by including the “Users” VLAN in the switch port profile as a tag, that I would be able to connect to core without any firewall rules.

I hope this is not too confusing, and thank you in advance for your help with this!

1 Like

Late here… I’ll try to keep this brief. Can answer more in the AM.